Not All Skechers Are Created Equal


Hey shoe lovers! I took a little break from blogging last month to work on some new, big things coming your way soon! Of course, it’s all about shoes…

So now back to the blogging…

I took my daughter to Skechers today to get her some boots for school (which starts later this month–by the way, if  you have kids, have you read my blog post about back-to-school shoe shopping?)…and I noticed a fairly new addition to the Skechers line of toning shoes. Most people know about their famous Shape-Ups, but they have several types of toning shoes now. The ones that caught my eye looked the most “normal” of all of them: the Tone-Ups Fitness.

Now don’t get them confused with the Tone-Ups.

Although they look very similar, that is where the similarities ended for me. The two styles feel very different when you walk in them. As a test, I put one of each on my feet and walked up and down the aisles to get a good feel for them. The Tone-Ups felt very stiff and uncomfortable in both the upper of the shoe and in the footbed lining. But the most uncomfortable part about them was during heel strike. As I took each step and my heel hit the floor, the sole of the shoe felt like I was walking on a hard bump. Not a good feeling. On the other hand, when I walked in the Tone-Ups Fitness, I have to admit that the shoes felt good. The sole felt a little spongier and cushy than my running shoes and other athletic shoes, but it was not uncomfortable. It kinda felt good. Weird that such similar shoes felt so different. I even asked the salesperson before I did my little ‘experiment’ and he said that the main difference between them was that the new shoes (the Tone-Ups Fitness) were more lightweight than the older versions. Sorry, Skechers salesperson, you were super nice and helpful climbing up the ladder to get me my size 🙂 but that is not the main difference between them.

Moral of the story: Don’t count on the sales associate to give you the low down on the shoes you are going to put your feet in! Try them out for yourself and save yourself some discomfort when you get them home!

Dedicated to your foot health and to your shoes,

Dr. Michele, The Shoe Expert

“All Shoes, All the Time!”

4 Responses to “Not All Skechers Are Created Equal”

  1. […] = ‘none’; document.getElementById(‘singlemouse’).style.display = ”; } Not All Skechers Are Created Equal sup { vertical-align: 60%; font-size: 75%; line-height: 100%; } sub { vertical-align: -10%; […]

  2. […] = ''; } Instructor BiosvgplasticsurgeryZion 2012 – Iranian concern rings trueNot All Skechers Are Created EqualWho is responsible for teenagers' Eating disorders?Reebok & The 25 Million Dollar […]

Leave a comment