Can loafers ever REALLY make a comeback?


For several seasons now loafers have been trying to make a comeback on the fashion scene, but they never seem to really pull it off. What do you think? Can loafers ever REALLY make a comeback? They’ve actually come a long way, baby! Of course, there are still the same traditional styles of loafers out there like the penny loafer, but there are now loafers with animal print, wedges, and high heels. Let’s take a look at some of the various styles of loafers on sale this fall…maybe you’ll like them and even wear them!

Aetrex Nancy Buckle Loafers $144.95 at shoestoboot.com

Aetrex Nancy Buckle Loafers $144.95 at shoestoboot.com

 

I actually sell these Aetrex loafers in my office, and my patients love them! They like the fact that they are super comfy and still stylish with the patent leather croc upper.

Aerosoles Matter of Fact Loafers $39.99 at Onlineshoes.com

Aerosoles Matter of Fact Loafers $39.99 at Onlineshoes.com

For this price, it would be worth it to try these out! If I needed to wear some loafers for a long day at the office, I would give these a whirl. They’re kinda cute, and Aerosoles have a reputation for being very comfortable.
Coach Sharin Loafers $109.99 at eBay

Coach Sharin Loafers $109.99 at eBay

I actually own these, so I can say that these are comfortable, durable, and, well, they’re Coach so they never really go out of style. I would definitely recommend them!
Gucci Patent Script Logo Rubber Lug Loafers $405.99 at Bluefly.com

Gucci Patent Script Logo Rubber Lug Loafers $405.99 at Bluefly.com

I saw these on Bluefly.com and had to include them…of course, I love black and gray, especially when they’re together, but the other reason I like these is the rubber lug sole. I have not tried these on YET but with a sole like that, these have to feel good! These are now on my “to do list.” 🙂
Dr Martens High Heel Loafers $120.00 at Wild Free

Dr Martens High Heel Loafers $120.00 at Wild Free

So now we’re getting into the loafers with heels, but these are Dr Martens, so even with a heel I bet these are still pretty comfortable. Look at the sole. It’s like the last rubber sole we looked at…gotta love the rubber, thick soles! Well, our feet will love them anyway! 🙂
Chloe Cork Wedge Penny Loafers $276.00 at farfetch.com

Chloe Cork Wedge Penny Loafers $276.00 at farfetch.com

I have to admit these are pretty high! But I wanted to include them in this discussion to show you the different styles of loafers out there. But back to this particular shoe…although it’s super high, the cork wedge does add a lot to the comfort of the shoe. I don’t own these, but the cork wedge sandals that I do own are about this high and are really comfortable. I wouldn’t work a long shift in them, but for a lunch date or a meeting where I’d be sitting for a while, I would give them a try. Plus, I kinda like the colors. It’s fun wearing shoes that stand out a little. 🙂
Tod's Newze Loafer Wedges $396.00 at Bluefly.com
Tod’s Newze Loafer Wedges $396.00 at Bluefly.com

Here’s another wedge loafer but they’re not as high as the last ones…plus, look at the sole. Although they’re thin soled, the sole still looks like it has the rubber grip and cushion that we’ve seen in a couple of the other loafers. They just might be more comfortable on your feet than they seem at first glance. There are a lot of things to consider when looking at comfort, and most people look first at the heel height. But we also have to look at sole thickness, materials used, shape of the toe box, etc.

Well, what do you think? Do you own loafers? But more importantly, do you still wear your loafers? And do you think they’re still stylish?
My answers to these questions: Yes, I own them. Yes, sometimes I wear them for the right occasion. And yes, I think many of them are stylish (but I especially like the ones that stand out, the ones that are not just your regular old penny loafer).
–Dr. Michele, The Shoe Expert–
🙂
One Response to “Can loafers ever REALLY make a comeback?”

Leave a Reply

