Heels: How high is too high?


In general, podiatrists agree that high heels are not good for the feet. Our professional organization, the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA), recommends heel heights of two inches or less for women’s shoes to avoid future foot pain and problems. I completely agree with that for everyday shoes for women. I have said time and time again…that for the office, for an eight hour work day, for prolonged periods of time spent on your feet…wear a low heeled shoe for comfort, stability, and overall foot health. But I have also said that for an occasional night on the town, business meeting, formal occasion, wedding, hot date night, etc., it is okay to wear your favorite heels. I wear mine on these occasions, and I wear my running shoes or my Crocs to work with my scrubs.  

Here is an excerpt on this very issue from another (podiatry) blog that I write, written back in May 2010, and here is the link:  http://drcolon.blogspot.com/2010/05/what-would-your-feet-tell-your-teen.html 

“Don’t wear high-heeled shoes that are too high.” … It’s definitely okay for a special occasion, a party, an event, or a night on the town, but not for an everyday ritual. If you have to dress up for work, wear a low-heeled shoe. Your feet will thank you for years to come. Just ask your moms and grandmas…they love to share how they wore high heels for years and how their feet suffer in their golden years for it.

So ladies, let’s be smart, let’s be good to our feet, and let’s let loose a little too! We can still have fun and look good at the same time. What I propose is that we can have comfortable yet sexy shoes. As Salvatore Ferragamo said, “Elegance and comfort are not incompatible, and whoever maintains the contrary simply doesn’t know what he’s talking about.” Well said, Mr. Ferragamo! In celebration of this thought, let’s look at some of his wonderful shoes: 

Salvatore Ferragamo Varina flats $424.00 at Zappos.com

Salvatore Ferragamo Varina flats $424.00 at Zappos.com

Salvatore Ferragamo Flo wedge pumps $490.00 at Saks Fifth Avenue

Salvatore Ferragamo Flo wedge pumps $490.00 at Saks Fifth Avenue

 

Salvatore Ferragamo Frannie maryjane pumps $564.00 at Zappos

Salvatore Ferragamo Frannie maryjane pumps $564.00 at Zappos

Salvatore Ferragamo Carla leather pumps $450 at Saks Fifth Avenue

Salvatore Ferragamo Carla leather pumps $450 at Saks Fifth Avenue

Salvatore Ferragamo Giara platform pumps $564.00 at Zappos

Salvatore Ferragamo Giara platform pumps $564.00 at Zappos

2 Responses to “Heels: How high is too high?”

  1. I personally used to LOVE wearing heels everywhere I went, and I thought “the higher, the better.” For some reason (thank god) I’ve gotten over that phase and now prefer heels for just the fancy evening or event. I’m tired of running around the office with 4-5 inch heels. I’m glad I’ve suddenly had a change of heart, according to your article, if I kept that habit up any longer I’d potentially have a difficult future!

  2. There can be little doubt that those ultra hot heels the ladies wear cannot be good for the feet. I don’t know how a lady could wear them during a work day all day without signifcant time off her feet. As a male though I do appreciate the self sacrifice of the 4 + inch heel. Wear them less and make them count I suppose would ring true.

Leave a Reply

